Breakfast with Pulsión

Meeting with...

Interview with Pedro Casavecchia, director of Pulsión

Your film explores the descent into madness of a boy who grew up in a dysfunctional family. What was the appeal in this subjects ?
Pulsión is a project that I did mostly on my own. 3D animation takes a really long time and I would say the hardest part is to remain committed till the end to finish the film (even more so if it is an independent project without funding), so I decided I needed to work on a subject that was interesting for me. At the time I was into true crime documentaries and serial killer interviews. Not so much into the act of killing, but the psychological part of it. How these characters come to be. I decided to go with the psychological thriller genre to keep myself interested on the process.

What did you hope the audience would take from it?
I guess my film is quite dark. So I hope they are able to empathize with the characters and get to know them. I hope they feel things as they watch it, since that’s what I like to experience when I watch a film. It’s really nice when people discover tiny details on the film.

What sort of freedom would you say the short format allows?
It’s great to try things out. In the case of my film, the isometric view and the enclosed environments were something I didn’t see much of before but since I only needed to make it work just for a few minutes I felt more encouraged to try it out. A short film format is an awesome way to experiment and be creative.

What do you consider your cinematographic references? What are your influences or inspirations?
I’m a big fan of Kubrick’s The Shining. I really love how mysterious and deep the move is. You can watch it over and over and you will continue to find new things you didn’t see before. I really tried to create something that had some of that influence.

Pulsión is part of International Competition I4.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Breakfast avec Pulsión (Pulsion)

Rencontre avec...

Entretien avec Pedro Casavecchia, réalisateur de Pulsión (Pulsion)

Votre film montre un garçon issu d’une famille difficile qui sombre dans la folie. Qu’est-ce qui vous intéressait dans ce sujet ?
Pulsión est un projet que j’ai réalisé presque tout seul. L’animation en 3D est très chronophage et je trouve que le plus difficile est de rester impliqué jusqu’à l’achèvement du film (surtout dans le cas d’un projet indépendant, sans financements), donc il me fallait un sujet qui m’intéresse personnellement. À cette époque, j’étais à fond dans les reportages sur les criminels et les interviews de tueurs en série. Ce n’était pas le crime en lui-même qui m’intéressait, mais l’aspect psychologique – comment ces gens en arrivent là. J’ai donc opté pour le genre du thriller psychologique dans le but de conserver ma motivation jusqu’au bout.

Que voulez-vous que le spectateur en retire ?
Mon film est assez sombre. J’espère que le spectateur aura de l’empathie pour les personnages, qu’il s’y attachera. J’espère qu’il ressentira quelque chose en regardant le film, car c’est cela que je recherche personnellement quand je regarde un film. C’est super quand les gens remarquent de tout petits détails du film.

Y a-t-il des libertés que le format court métrage vous a apportées ?
C’est génial pour faire des essais – en l’occurrence, la perspective isométrique et les espaces clos, deux choses que je ne connaissais pas trop mais que j’ai eu le courage de tenter car il fallait juste que ça fonctionne sur quelques minutes. Le format du court métrage est un moyen extraordinaire d’expérimenter et d’être créatif.

Quelles sont vos références cinématographiques ? Vos influences, ce qui vous inspire ?
Je suis fan absolu de Shining, de Kubrick. J’adore le mystère, la profondeur de ce film. On peut le revoir sans fin et y trouver encore des choses qu’on n’avait pas remarquées. J’ai vraiment voulu faire quelque chose qui s’inspirait de cela.

Pour voir Pulsión (Pulsion), rendez-vous aux séances du programme I4 de la compétition internationale.

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *