Breakfast with Last Year When the Train Passed by

Meeting with...

Interview with Pang-Chuan Huang, director of Last Year When the Train Passed By

la mouche cf In what country and what regions did you shoot?
I shot this film in my native Taiwan, in the south and the west, where there are lots of fields and beautiful countryside. I took still photographs at the time I was completing post-production for my previous film, Retour, in 2017 (Labo Competition Grand Prix at the Clermont-Ferrand Short Film Festival in 2018 – editor’s note) and I went back to the same places in 2018 to conduct the interviews.

la mouche cf What did you enjoy about interviewing the people who live along the railway line?
I’m always curious about the little houses along the railway line when the train passes by. Who are they? How old are they? What do they do? Thanks to the magic of photography and of the documentary, I was able to meet them and answer my questions.

la mouche cf Did you expect to encounter so few young people in these areas? Did you wonder where they might be?
Yes, indeed. As in all the rural regions all over the world, there aren’t any young people. I conducted 35 interviews and there was only one young farmer. Where are they? I think they’ve simply left the fields.

la mouche cf What did you find interesting about the fixed shots of the countryside or of the waterside?
The film is like the developing process for analog photography. I shot the photographs from the train, I waited one year for the memories to resurface and fix themselves on the photo paper, the shots of the waterside are like the developing bath. But of course, these are interpretive explanations, for me these shots are simply pictures from my trip.

la mouche cf Are there any particular freedoms that the short film format allows you?
Yes, we could say that short film translates as “Freedom”.

Last Year When the Train Passed By is being shown in Labo Competition L5.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Breakfast avec Last Year When the Train Passed by (L’an dernier quand le train est passé)

Rencontre avec...

Interview de Pang-Chuan Huang, réalisateur de Last Year When the Train Passed by (L’an dernier quand le train est passé)

la mouche cf Dans quel(s) pays et quelle(s) région(s) avez-vous tourné ?
J’ai tourné ce film dans mon pays Taïwan, dans le Sud et l’Ouest, où il y a beaucoup de champs et de beaux paysages. J’ai photographié les images fixes à la période où j’ai fait la post-production pour mon film précédent, Retour, en 2017 (Grand Prix labo au festival du court métrage de Clermont-Ferrand 2018, ndlr) et je suis retourné aux mêmes endroits en 2018 pour faire les interviews.

la mouche cf Qu’est-ce qui vous amusait dans le fait d’aller interroger des habitants qui vivent au bord du chemin de fer ?
Je suis toujours curieux des petites maisons au bord du rail quand le train passe. Qui sont-ils ? Quel âge ont-ils ? Quel est leur métier ? Grâce à la magie de la photographie et du documentaire, j’ai pu les rencontrer et trouver la réponse.

la mouche cf Vous attendiez-vous à rencontrer si peu de jeunes gens dans ces habitations ? Vous êtes-vous demandé où ils sont ?
Oui effectivement, comme dans toutes les régions rurales du monde entier, les jeunes n’y sont pas. J’ai fait 35 interviews et il y avait seulement une jeune agricultrice. Où sont-ils ? Je crois qu’ils sont tout simplement hors-champ. (Mauvais jeu de mots !)

la mouche cf Qu’est-ce qui vous intéressait dans les plans fixes sur des paysages ou des bords d’eau ?
Ce film c’est comme le processus du développement pour la photographie argentique. J’avais arraché des images depuis le train, j’ai attendu un an pour que les mémoires ressurgissent et se fixent sur le papier photo, les plans des bords d’eau sont donc comme le bain du développement. Mais bien sûr ce sont des explications issues de mon interprétation, pour moi ces plans sont simplement des images de mon voyage.

la mouche cf Y a-t-il des libertés que le format court métrage vous a apporté en particulier ?
Oui on peut dire que le court métrage s’écrit “Liberté”.

Pour voir Last Year When the Train Passed by (L’an dernier quand le train est passé), rendez-vous aux séances de la compétition labo L5.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *