Dinner with El infierno y tal

Meeting with...

Interview with Enrique Buleo, director of El infierno y tal [Hell and Such]

Why did you want to picture a rural environment?
I come from a small village in La Mancha so setting my stories in rural environments is natural for me. Although I’ve been living in a city for the last fifteen years, I spent my childhood and adolescence in a rural environment and it deeply influenced my personality.

How much are you interested in isolation and do you have further projects on this theme?
I am very interested in losers and misfits who are determined and strong-willed. This kind of people usually live in isolation. In one of my future projects, called Relato de salvación, isolation plays a very important role too.

How did you work on character elaboration? Are there a few differences between the script and the film?
I always try to work on character elaboration and on the plot at the same time. However, sometimes the plot defines the characters and other times the characters are the ones who define the plot. In El Infierno y tal I already knew the type of characters I wanted to create – a mother and a father who made their daughter suffer involuntarily. I wanted an aggressive and ridiculous father and a phony and absurd mother, like a macabre and silly version of Matilda. The script and the film are quite similar. I only reduced some scenes in the editing process to create a proper film rhythm. 

Why did you want to add the question of disability?
I only thought of a disability characteristic because it made the character more fragile and made it more difficult for her to escape from her parents. However, I think disability is not one of the main themes of the story.

How much was the concentration camp sequence important?
The concentration camp sequence defines the mother’s irrational character. She believes that she’s somehow a victim of a concentration camp. This sequence also shows how at that particular moment, the daughter thinks of escaping from her pitiful existence.

Would you say that the short film format has given you any particular freedom?
I don’t think the short film format in itself gives you any particular freedom. We can find feature films which are much more imaginative and creative than many short films, which can sometimes be very academic and traditional. What really gives me freedom to make short films like El Infierno y tal is the fact that I don’t make my living from filmmaking.

What are your reference works?
I have a very eclectic tastes but I feel specially influenced by European filmmakers such as Ulrich Seidl, Jessica Hausner, Aki Kaurismäki, Pedro Almodóvar, Werner Herzog, American filmmakers such as Jim Jarmusch, Woody Allen, Rodrigo García, Amat Escalante and the Canadian director David Cronenberg.

El infierno y tal [Hell and Such] is part of Lab Competition L2.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Dîner avec El infierno y tal

Rencontre avec...

Entretien avec Enrique Buleo, réalisateur de El infierno y tal (L’enfer, etc.)

Pourquoi avoir choisi d’évoquer un milieu rural ?
Je viens d’un petit village de La Mancha, il est donc naturel pour moi de situer mes histoires en milieu rural. Même si cela fait quinze ans que j’habite en ville, j’ai passé mon enfance et mon adolescence à la campagne et cela a fortement marqué ma personnalité.

Dans quelle mesure vous intéressez-vous à la solitude ? Avez-vous d’autres projets sur ce thème ?
D’une façon générale, je m’intéresse aux ratés, aux exclus qui font preuve de détermination, de volonté. Ces gens connaissent en général la solitude. Dans un de mes futurs films, intitulé Relato de salvación, la solitude tient également une place importante.

Comment avez-vous travaillé sur l’élaboration des personnages ? Y a-t-il des différences entre le scénario et le film ?
Je m’efforce toujours de travailler sur l’élaboration des personnages et sur l’intrigue en même temps. Cela dit, il arrive que l’intrigue définisse les personnages, ou que les personnages aient une influence sur l’intrigue. Pour El infierno y tal, je savais d’emblée quels types de personnages je voulais créer : une mère et un père qui font souffrir leur fille sans s’en rendre compte. Je voulais un père agressif et ridicule, une mère hypocrite et absurde, une sorte de version macabre et idiote de Matilda. Le scénario et le film sont similaires, à part quelques scènes que j’ai raccourcies au montage dans un souci de rythme.

Pourquoi avoir ajouté la question du handicap ?
J’ai pensé au handicap car cela rendait le personnage plus fragile, moins à même de fuir ses parents. Mais pour moi, le handicap n’est pas un thème important du film.

La séquence du camp de concentration était-elle importante ?
Cette séquence explique le caractère irrationnel de la mère. Dans un sens, elle se croit victime d’un camp de concentration. C’est aussi à ce moment-là que l’on comprend que la fille pense à fuir son existence misérable.

 Y a-t-il des libertés que le format court métrage vous a apportées ?
Je ne pense pas que le format court donne en soi quelque liberté que ce soit. Il y a des longs métrages bien plus imaginatifs et créatifs que beaucoup de courts métrages, qui peuvent être parfois très scolaires et conventionnels. Ce qui me donne la liberté de faire des courts métrages comme El infierno y tal, c’est le fait que le cinéma n’est pas mon gagne-pain.

Quelles sont vos œuvres de référence ?
J’ai des goûts très éclectiques, mais je me sens particulièrement influencé par des cinéastes européens comme Ulrich Seidl, Jessica Hausner, Aki Kaurismäki, Pedro Almodóvar, Werner Herzog, des réalisateurs américains comme Jim Jarmusch, Woody Allen, Rodrigo García, Amat Escalante ainsi que le Canadien David Cronenberg.

 

Pour voir El infierno y tal (L’enfer, etc.), rendez-vous aux séances du programme L2 de la compétition labo.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *