Dinner with People are Strange

Meeting with...

An interview with Julien Hallard, director of People are Strange

 


la mouche cf Have you ever taken a guided tour of a cemetery or followed a group of fans gathering at the grave of a celebrity?

I had never gone to Jim Morrison’s grave even though I love to wander around the alleys of Père-Lachaise. Pilgrimages just aren’t my thing. When I had the idea for the film, of course I went there in search of inspiration and to conduct my little investigation. I listened to what the guides said about Morrison and observed the fans, some of whom live through their devotion like the main character in my film. It is the grave with the most flowers in all of Père-Lachaise, with the exception of Allan Kardec, the founder of French-style spiritualism.


la mouche cf Like the hero in People are Strange, do you have a particular affection for Jim Morrison?

Absolutely. As a teenager, I listened a lot to the Doors and identified with the self-destructive, cursed poet that was Morrison. And, I was 17 years old when the Oliver Stone movie came out… I must say that I had the same curly hair as Morrison and I played on that quite a bit in my town nightclub when I danced to “Break on Through”.


la mouche cf In People are Strange, you present three characters who are outsiders, yet quite similar to us. How did you conceive these characters? And how did you conduct casting?

In terms of cinema, I always had a soft spot for the “beautiful losers”, the offbeat people in search of their identity and their place in society. This type of character corresponds to my kind of comedy, which I can place between the films of Jim Jarmusch and Wes Anderson. For the role of the Jim Morrison fan, I thought immediately of my favorite actor, Franc Bruneau, who possesses that particular comic sense. What was also important is that the actor not look like Morrison at all; I have the greatest affection for those fans who think they look like their idol whereas they don’t at all; it’s beautiful and tragic at the same time. For the rest of the cast, I absolutely wanted to use Esteban, who is a UFO as funny and crazy as Bourvil. Finally, the trio was completed by Mathilde Bisson who possesses a strange beauty and an almost troubling intensity.

 

people are strange

 


la mouche cf In our modern society, the relations between celebrities and their most fervent fans are complex. To make People are Strange, did you do research into the behaviors and the adoration of fans like these, or on the place of the “person” in “famous person”?

I read several articles about the fans who take themselves for their idols; there was one in fact where a Gainsbourg look-alike had stabbed a Johnny Hallyday look-alike in a fight! After that, I let my imagination do the rest. People are Strange is not a behavioral study. The idea of a doppelganger is a point of departure to talk about the acceptance of one’s self. There is a quote by Oscar Wilde that I love on this subject: “Be yourself. Everyone else is already taken.”


la mouche cf In People are Strange, you deal with the question of self-confidence. As a director, is it always easy to have confidence in your projects?

With time, we learn to have confidence in our instinct and our vision. You need that because there are many moments of doubt and adversity on the road to making a film. You have to be very positive. If you don’t believe in it, no one else will in your place. “Mojo Rising,” said Morrison.


la mouche cf In People are Strange, you deal with the question of the available margin for “being ourselves”. Do you think that space is large enough in our contemporary society? Is it possible to “be yourself” within the family? At work? With friends? Is it easy to do in everyday life?

That brings us back to the quote by Oscar Wilde and the central theme of the film. Our Western societies are focused on profit, on accumulation, on success, which makes our egos completely crazy. We want what we don’t have, we want to be what we aren’t. It is a great source of suffering, a race to happiness that will never be satisfied. Morrison named his band as a tribute to a book by Georges Orwell, “The Doors of Perception”, a title which itself was a reference to a poem by William Blake: “If the doors of perception were cleansed, every thing would appear to man as it is, Infinite.”


la mouche cf People are Strange was produced in France. In your opinion, what does French short film production have that the others don’t?

French production is clearly an exception in the panorama of the world’s short film. With the support of the CNC and the commitment of television stations from the writing of the screenplay (Arte for this particular film), we can work in good conditions. It is a situation that can be found nowhere else.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Dîner avec People are Strange

Rencontre avec...

Entretien avec Julien Hallard, réalisateur de People are Strange

 


la mouche cf Avez-vous déjà fait une visite guidée dans un cimetière ou suivi un groupe de fans au recueillement auprès de la tombe d’une célébrité ?

Je n’étais jamais allé sur la tombe de Jim Morrison alors que j’adore me promener dans les allées du Père-Lachaise. Les pèlerinages c’est pas mon truc. Quand j’ai eu l’idée du film, je m’y suis évidemment rendu pour m’inspirer et mener ma petite enquête. J’ai écouté ce que disent les guides à propos de Morrison et j’ai observé les fans dont certains vivent dans la dévotion comme le personnage principal de mon film. C’est la tombe la plus fleurie du Père-Lachaise à l’exception de celle de Allan Kardec, le fondateur du spiritisme à la française.


la mouche cf Comme le héros de People are strange, avez-vous une affection particulière pour Jim Morrison ?

Tout à fait. Adolescent, j’écoutais beaucoup les Doors et je m’identifiais à la figure de poète maudit auto-destructeur de Morrison. Et puis, j’avais 17 ans quand le film d’Oliver Stone est sorti… Il faut dire aussi que j’avais un peu la même chevelure bouclée que Morrison et que j’en jouais pas mal à l’époque dans les boîtes de nuit de mon patelin quand je dansais sur “Break on Through”.


la mouche cf Dans People are Strange, vous présentez trois personnages marginaux, bien que proches de nous. Comment avez-vous choisi de construire ces personnages ? Et comment avez-vous procédé au casting ?

En terme de cinéma, j’ai toujours eu une grande affection pour les “beautiful losers”, les gens décalés à la recherche d’une identité, d’une place sociale. Ce genre de personnage correspond à mon type de comédie que je pourrai situer quelque part entre les films de Jim Jarmusch et ceux de Wes Anderson. Pour le rôle fan de Jim Morrison, j’ai tout de suite pensé à mon acteur fétiche Franc Bruneau qui a justement ce sens comique très particulier. Ce qui était important aussi c’est qu’il ne ressemble pas du tout Morrison ; j’ai la plus grande affection pour ces fans qui croit vraiment ressembler à leur idole alors que pas du tout ; c’est beau et tragique à la fois. Pour le reste du casting, je voulais absolument tourner avec Esteban qui est un ovni aussi drôle et déjanté pour moi qu’un Bourvil. Enfin, ce trio a été complété par Mathilde Bisson qui a une beauté étrange, une intensité presque inquiétante.

 

people are strange

 


la mouche cf Dans notre société moderne, les relations des fans les plus touchés aux célébrités qu’ils affectionnent sont assez complexes. Pour réaliser People are Strange, avez-vous fait des recherches sur ces comportements, sur l’adoration du fan ou sur la place laissée à la « personne » dans « personne célèbre » ?

J’ai bien sûr lu quelques articles concernant ces fans qui se prennent pour leur idole ; il y en avait d’ailleurs un qui racontait comment un sosie de Gainsbourg avait poignardé un autre de Johnny Hallyday lors d’une altercation ! Après je laisse faire mon imagination, People Are Strange n’est pas une étude comportementale. L’idée du sosie c’est un point départ pour parler de l’acceptation de soi. Il y a une citation d’Oscar Wilde que j’aime beaucoup à ce sujet : “Soyez vous-même, tous les autres sont déjà pris”.


la mouche cf Dans People are Strange, vous questionnez la confiance en soi. En tant que réalisateur, est-ce facile d’avoir toujours confiance en ses projets ?

Avec le temps, on apprend à faire confiance à son instinct, à sa vision. Il le faut car il y a beaucoup de moments de doutes et d’adversité sur le chemin de la confection d’un film. Il faut être très positif, si vous n’y croyez pas, personne ne le fera à votre place. “Mojo Rising” dirait Morrison.


la mouche cf Dans People are Strange, vous questionnez la marge disponible pour « être soi-même ». Pensez-vous que cet espace soit suffisant dans notre société contemporaine ? Est-ce possible d’ « être soi-même » en famille ? Au travail ? Avec les amis ? Est-ce simple au quotidien ?

On en revient à la citation d’Oscar Wilde et au thème central du film. Nos sociétés occidentales tournées vers le profit, l’accumulation, la réussite rendent nos egos totalement fous. On veut ce qu’on n’a pas, on veut être ce qu’on est pas. C’est une grande souffrance, une course au bonheur qui ne sera jamais satisfaite. Morrison avait nommé son groupe en hommage au livre de Georges Orwell, “The Doors of perception”, titre qui était lui-même une référence à un poème de William Blake : “Si les portes de la perception étaient nettoyées, chaque chose apparaîtrait à l’homme telle qu’elle est, infinie”.


la mouche cf People are Strange a été produit en France. Selon vous, dans le court métrage, qu’est-ce que la production française apporte que les autres n’ont pas ?

La production française est clairement une exception dans le panorama du court métrage mondial. Avec le soutien du CNC et l’engagement des chaînes de télé dès l’étape du scénario (Arte en ce qui concerne mon film), nous pouvons travailler dans de bonnes conditions. C’est une situation qui ne se retrouve nulle part ailleurs.

 

Pour voir People are Strange, rendez-vous aux séances de la Compétition Nationale F2.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *