Night cap with The Boogeywoman

Meeting with...

An interview with Erica Scoggins, director of The Boogeywoman

la mouche cf Why were you interested in picturing a teenage girl at her first period?
It’s a time of incredible tension. There can be fear, dread, and shame, but also pride and growth. Often, it’s all mixed up together. It’s an undeniable physical change heaped in centuries of mythology and propaganda. A girl becomes a woman, bound to the cycle of nature and forced to recognize the potential to create life, but she’s also bound to persistent puritanical and religious social laws. Her culture, shaped by its particular dogma and social norms, tells her what she can and cannot do with her own body. They tell her what is unclean, what is shameful, and what she will become if she breaks these written and sometimes unwritten rules. Her first period announces a lifelong battle between desire and reputation.

la mouche cf Does blood carry some sort of magic in The boogeywoman?
Blood is magic! Blood is life. Menstrual blood is a sign of health and fertility, yet we are taught to hide it. Most people are strangely more comfortable at the cinema watching gory battle scenes, executions, and slasher horror than they are a pair of bloody panties. The “reasons” for this fill volumes. In essence, blood that comes from the dark, invisible part of a woman carries mystery. Mystery and uncertainty breed fear. Fear enables atrocities like the witch trials, female genital mutilation, and unsafe ostracism of women during menstruation. If female sexuality and biology can inspire that kind of retaliation, it surely must be magic. The Boogeywoman takes this absurdity and runs with it, using blood as a driving force toward the threshold of womanhood and sexual autonomy. Blood becomes a source of power rather than shame.

la mouche cf Why did you want the main action to take place during the night?
Symbolically and literally, night is the earth’s shadow side. Things are hidden and obscured. The girl’s meeting with the Boogeywoman is her meeting with what we have been taught is the shadow of womanhood: a strong, sexual woman with no regard for arbitrary rules written by those who have never experienced what she now endures. Night is also key to the horror tropes at play in the film.

la mouche cf How did you work on the movie’s intense wandering after the roller rink sequence?
Conceptually, the sequence represents the girl’s exile from innocence and traditional society into the battleground of womanhood, where she’s vulnerable but also free. I wanted there to be an ambiguity about why the young man is following the girl… he wants to apologize, he’s under the spell of the aforementioned magic blood, or he has more sinister intentions. For our heroine, a sense of dread and disorientation leads her directly to her destiny. Instead of the usual girl as victim, the stalker becomes the prey. Perhaps willing prey. This sequence was our final night of shooting. We wandered the streets of a very sleepy small town in Tennessee called Dayton (a block from the courthouse where it was decided evolution would be taught in American schools). We wrapped at about 4am and heard the train coming, so we hustled to the tracks and barely caught it. Our DP had the most triumphant smile on his face. We were freezing cold, but damn happy.

la mouche cf Did you write The Boogeywoman as a whole or could it be part of a larger project?
The Boogeywoman is a loose proof of concept for a feature film. I had a rough draft of a larger piece, but decided to make a short to figure out what was important in the full story. I plucked the characters and themes out to create The Boogeywoman. I have since revamped the feature, titled Godmother, and am currently exploring production options. Godmother is a pyscho-sexual Southern Gothic mystery-thriller about a teenage girl, her mother, and the woman who bridges the vast distance between them. In Godmother, the heroine, Sam, is a senior in high school navigating the complexities of a first love tainted by violence and control. When her unhinged boyfriend takes her to spy on a rumored murderess in their small town, Sam finds her strangely familiar. As she investigates the woman and struggles to cut ties with her abusive lover, reality gives way to dissociative episodes–ancestral memories that implicate her mother and the mysterious woman. Sam moves dangerously toward a truth that will redefine her. Godmother is about the danger of leaving dangerous men and the fierce capacity for violence in the “gentler” sex.

la mouche cf Would you say that the short film format has given you any particular freedom?
The short film format can be so many things–an exercise, a poem, a glimpse of a larger vision, or simply film unbound by convention and marketability. For me it has been all of these things. The Sacred Disease, which screened in the lab competition last year, and The Boogeywoman hail from a cinematic world that is constantly in development for me. The rawness and altered perception of The Sacred Disease and the provocative symbolism of The Boogeywoman together represent the essence of my next project, Godmother. Each short project has spurred my growth as a filmmaker and led me to the opportunity to make a longer work, but it has also allowed me to provide opportunities for others. I spotted the main actress of The Boogeywoman, Amélie Hoeferle, in a cafe in my hometown of Cleveland, TN. I had been working on the script all morning and looked up to find this enchanting girl on the verge of womanhood. She had never acted before but accepted the challenge head on. I auditioned her and did a callback and could tell she had put in some real work between. I was ecstatic to offer her the role. I was then able to fill in the rest of the cast with incredibly talented young actors from across the South and Midwest, some of whom had never worked in film before. We created this strong little family and continue to communicate daily. With a short film, I was able to go with my intuition and take a chance on these actors. It worked out well for all involved.

The Boogeywoman was selected in the Lab Competition (L5).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Dernier verre avec The Boogeywoman (La Croque-mitaine)

Rencontre avec...

Entretien avec Erica Scoggins, réalisatrice de The Boogeywoman (La Croque-mitaine)

la mouche cf Pourquoi vous intéresser à une adolescente au moment de ses premières règles ?
Parce que c’est une période de grande tension qui peut charrier de la peur, de l’appréhension, de la honte mais aussi de la fierté et une expansion. Généralement c’est un mélange de tout ça. C’est une métamorphose physique indéniable ancrée dans des siècles de mythologie et d’endoctrinement. Quand une jeune fille devient femme, qu’elle est reliée aux cycles de la nature et à l’évidence de sa capacité à créer la vie, elle devient aussi la victime du puritanisme et des lois religieuses et sociales. C’est sa culture, construite à partir de ses propres croyances et normes sociales qui lui dicte ce qu’elle a le droit de faire ou ne pas faire de son corps, et ce qui est impropre, honteux, ce qui va lui arriver si elle enfreint ces lois. Ses premières règles sont les prémices d’une lutte perpétuelle entre ses désirs et le maintien de sa réputation.

la mouche cf Est-ce que le sang a un caractère magique dans The Boogeywoman?
Le sang est magique ! Il est la vie. Le sang menstruel est signe de santé et de fertilité et pourtant, on nous demande de le cacher. Bizarrement, les scènes de batailles sanglantes,d’exécutions et d’agressions perturbent beaucoup moins les gens que la vue d’une culotte ensanglantée. En somme, le sang qui vient de la part sombre et invisible des femmes porte en lui le mystère. Et le mystère, associé à l’incertitude, créé la peur, qui conduit à des atrocités comme la condamnation des sorcières, la mutilation du sexe féminin, ou la dangereuse mise à l’écart des femmes pendant la période de leurs règles. Si la sexualité féminine et la biologie sont à l’origine de telles violences, c’est bien qu’il y a de la magie quelque part. La Boogeywoman s’empare de cette absurdité et s’enfuit avec, se servant du sang comme d’une force qui amène jusqu’au seuil de la féminité et de l’autonomie sexuelle. Le sang est alors source de pouvoir plutôt que de honte.

la mouche cf Pourquoi avoir choisi la nuit comme cadre de la scène principale ?
Du point de vue symbolique comme littéral, la nuit est le côté obscur de la terre. Les choses y sont cachées, sombres. La rencontre de la jeune fille avec la Boogeywoman est de celles qu’on nous a apprises à considérer comme la part d’ombre de la féminité : une femme forte, éminemment sexuelle, qui n’a aucune considération pour ces lois arbitraires conçues par ceux qui n’ont jamais fait l’expérience de ce qu’elle doit supporter. La nuit est aussi l’environnement idéal pour développer les métaphores de l’horreur qui se jouent dans le film.

la mouche cf Comment avez-vous travaillé cette intense scène d’errance qui fait suite à celle de la piste de roller ?
Cette scène évoque la distance que prend la jeune fille vis à vis de l’innocence et du regard social pour faire l’expérience de sa féminité, qui d’un côté la vulnérabilise mais de l’autre, la rend libre. Je voulais que le moment où le jeune homme la suit soit ambigu. Veut-il s’excuser, est-il envoûté par la magie de ce sang ou a-t-il de mauvaises intentions ? À ce moment-là, la peur et l’égarement mènent notre héroïne directement vers sa destinée et au lieu de devenir l’éternelle victime, les choses s’inversent et c’est le prédateur qui devient la proie. Proie peut-être consentante.  Cette scène a été notre dernière nuit de tournage. Après, nous avons déambulés dans les rues de Dayton, morne petite ville du Tennessee (à un pâté de maisons du Palais de Justice où il a été décidé que la théorie de l’évolution serait enseignée dans les écoles américaines). On a rangé nos affaires vers 4 heures du matin et entendu le train qu’on a attrapé de justesse. Notre chef opérateur avait un sourire triomphant, nous étions morts de froids mais sacrément contents !

la mouche cf Avez-vous écritThe Boogeywoman comme une forme à part entière ou l’envisagez-vous comme l’expérimentation de quelque chose de plus long ?
The Boogeywoman a été la manière de tester un concept. J’avais un brouillon assez grossier comme trame d’un long métrage et puis j’ai décidé de faire un court pour faire apparaître ce qui avait le plus d’importance dans l’histoire. J’en ai extirpé des personnages et des thèmes pour réaliser The Boogeywoman. Depuis, j’ai remanié le projet de long, Godmother, et cherche un producteur. Godmother est un thriller psycho-sexuel Gothique qui met en scène une adolescente, sa mère et la femme qui comble le vide entre elles. L’héroïne de Godmother, Sam, une adolescente dans sa dernière année de lycée, tâtonne dans une première histoire d’amour polluée par la violence et la manipulation. Quand son très instable petit copain lui demande d’enquêter sur une prétendue meurtrière qui sévirait dans leur petite ville, Sam se trouve d’étranges affinités avec elle. Alors qu’elle enquête sur cette femme et essaie de rompre avec son amant violent, elle est confrontée à des troubles dissociatifs qui la mènent à une mémoire ancestrale dans laquelle interviennent sa mère et la femme mystérieuse. Sam s’approche dangereusement d’une vérité qui va la redéfinir. Godmother évoque les risques que ça représente de quitter un homme dangereux et la férocité dont peut faire preuve le sexe « faible ».

la mouche cf Y a-t-il des libertés que le format court métrage vous a apportées en particulier ?
Un court métrage, ça peut être tellement de choses : un exercice, un poème, l’amorce de quelque chose, ou simplement un film qui n’est soumis ni à des conventions, ni à la rentabilité. Pour moi ça a été tout ça à la fois. The Sacred Disease, qui a été sélectionné dans la compétition Labo l’année dernière et The Boogeywoman, viennent d’un monde cinématographique qui pour moi est en évolution constante. L’âpreté et l’altération des perceptions dans The Sacred Disease et le symbolisme provocateur de The Boogeywoman sont au cœur de mon nouveau projet, Godmother. Chacun de mes courts métrages a boosté mon évolution en tant que réalisatrice et m’a amené jusqu’au projet de long, ils m’ont aussi permis d’offrir des opportunités à d’autres. J’ai repéré Amélie Hoeferle, l’actrice principale de The Boogeywoman dans un café de Cleveland, ma ville natale. J’avais travaillé sur le script toute la matinée et tout d’un coup, je vois cette charmante jeune fille au seuil de sa féminité. Elle n’avait jamais joué auparavant mais a accepté le défi sans hésitation. On a fait un premier essai, puis un deuxième un peu plus tard dans lequel j’ai pu observer l’évolution. J’étais ravie de lui offrir le rôle. À partir de là, j’ai pu compléter le casting avec de jeunes acteurs tous plus talentueux les uns que les autres, dont certains n’avaient jamais travaillé pour le cinéma. Tous ensemble on a créé cette petite famille, développé des liens forts et communiqué quotidiennement. Le format court m’a permis de fonctionner à l’intuition et de prendre le risque de travailler avec ces acteurs. Ça a très bien fonctionné.

The Boogeywoman (La Croque-mitaine) a été sélectionné en compétition labo (L5).

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *