Lunch with Que vive l’Empereur (Long Live the Emperor)

Meeting with...

Interview with Aude Léa Rapin, director of Que vive l’Empereur (Long Live the Emperor)

 

la mouche cf How did you come up with the idea for your film?
A Belgian friend showed me some images of the reenactment that takes place every year at Waterloo, near Brussels. I was immediately fascinated by this incarnation, or rather reincarnation, of history embodied by people from all walks of life. That particular year marked the bicentennial of the fall of the Napoleonic Empire at the terrible battle of Waterloo. It’s an amazing backdrop, a sort of immense carnival, with this one particularity – that the theme is always specifically about the war. The most important feature of the reenactments is the place that weapons and war have. Above and beyond the folklore, encampments and costumes, all of the “re-enactors” are focused on the main objective of the grand battle. We’re talking about adults who play at hypotheticals. That scope was what drove the project and the character of private Bébé, played by the actor and co-scriptwriter Jonathan Couzinié. We had the feeling that these people who pretend they’re Napoleon do more or less what we ourselves do when we create a fictional film. We pretend to make something real.

la mouche cf Do you like period costumes and the groups that engage in historical reenactments?
I did want to make a period film one day. I also knew that it would be very expensive and complicated. Hundreds of extras to manage, technical procedures that nowadays would be beyond my reach, and immense historical research. In 1969, Kubrick tried to make a film about the Emperor. I looked at a miniscule part of his preparatory work, and it was simply colossal, a madman’s endeavor. The film was never made but it did show just how enormous a task it entailed. I opted for a very simple idea that could be made with limited means, where the costumes and the reenactment would be relegated to their primary function as scenery.

la mouche cf Did the figure of the Emperor and the Napoleonic period in themselves have a particular significance? Does this fascination say something about the character? Could you have made the same film about a reenactment of the life of Caesar?
We probably could have used another context for the project, anything is possible. But it turned out that Napoleon resonated with our desire for history. He incarnates the patriarchal, totalitarian ideology that feeds the character and the couple in the film. Private Bébé behaves as if he is all-powerful. He has absolute command over his wife; she is his only army. He brings her along on his warring madness and loses his bearings. In this sense, there is something Napoleonic about him. I needed to assume the figure of the Emperor in order to for his fall to interest me. It’s like a message addressed to men who think that they are “by nature” superior to their wives or girlfriends, or to women in general. This cultural, historical legacy is a like a shadow dogging our heels. And if you want to be rid of a shadow, you just have to shine a light on it!

Que vive L'Empereur2

la mouche cf In the film, you tackle the topic of recognition and the quest for a “family” that is based on common dreams rather than on descent. What interested you about this theme?
The very basic idea that we are nothing on our own. That’s the Emperor’s paradox. In the film, Bébé’s need to be part of an army is clearly motivated by his need to belong to something larger than himself. His dream is to become a “a soldier like everyone else” and to join the Grand Army. I like the idea that we can reinvent ourselves at any point in our life. I like film characters who stubbornly pursue their desire to become, who never throw in the towel with the excuse that dreams belong only to childhood. But beyond that, family defined solely in terms of marriage and descent is terribly frightening. That confers on the notion of family a static inbreeding, a shackle on the freedom to be oneself. Bébé wants to choose his own family and I wanted to follow him in that quest.

la mouche cf You also ask questions about balance in relationships, dependence, domination, the space for compromise… What interested you about examining the romantic relationship between the two characters?
All of that interests me: dependence, domination, the space for compromise. What motivated the film is for me to be satisfied with precisely that. I wasn’t looking to have external events intervene in the relationship, no secondary characters, no drama or twists. Just putting a man and woman face to face, a leader and a follower, and create a situation where the substance of their balance gets flipped. You can’t dominate if the other is not dominated. The day that Ludo decides she’s had enough, the old charade crumbles. The image in my mind was of the film Dolls (by Takeshi Kitano, 2002 – Editor’s note.), with the two heroes who are joined forever to each other. I wanted to find my own way of describing how those images affected me at the time. The idea, in fact, that relationships are built over time – all romantic relationships, I mean. I’m not interested in marriages and divorces, but all those other moments that don’t have names but that make up the bulk of the story.

la mouche cf Any cinematic coups de cœur in the past year you’d like to tell us about?
This was a peculiar year for me: I had a child, which kept me from going to the cinema. As a result, I took advantage of the situation to catch up on the classics, like Ettore Scola’s A Special Day, Jean-Pierre Melville’s The Army of Shadows, Come and See by Elem Klimov – which is without a doubt the craziest movie I’ve yet seen – Peter Bogdanovich’s The Last Picture Show, which led me to discover the screenwriter and novelist Larry McMurtry’s amazing literary work (such as Lonesome Dove and Dead Man’s Walk). I could name many more, but those are the ones that come up right off the bat.

la mouche cf If you’ve already been to Clermont-Ferrand, could you share with us an anecdote from the festival? If not, what are your expectations for this year?
I’ve been here twice. Ton cœur au Hasard [Your Aimless Heart] won the Grand Prix in 2015, as well as the Adami Award for best actress for Julie Chevalier. Jonathan Couzinié also received a Special Mention from the Jury for his role.

 

 

Que vive l’Empereur is being shown in National Competition F12.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Lunch avec Que vive l’Empereur

Rencontre avec...

Interview de Aude Léa Rapin, réalisatrice de Que vive l’Empereur

 

la mouche cf Comment vous est venue l’inspiration pour Que vive l’Empereur ?
Un ami belge m’a montré des images de la reconstitution qui avait lieu chaque année à Waterloo près de Bruxelles. J’ai été immédiatement fascinée par cette incarnation ou cette réincarnation de l’histoire par des gens issus de tous les horizons. Cette année-là marquait le bicentenaire de la chute de l’Empire napoléonien lors de la terrible bataille de Waterloo. C’est une incroyable toile de fond, une sorte de carnaval géant à ceci près que la thématique est unique et précise : la guerre. Ce qui est le plus prégnant au sein des reconstitutions c’est la place des armes et de la guerre. Car au-delà du folklore, des bivouacs et des costumes, tous les « reconstituants » n’ont qu’un objectif : la grande bataille. Ce sont des adultes qui jouent à faire « comme si » ou « on dirait que ». C’est cette envergure-là qui a été le moteur du projet et du personnage du soldat Bébé, incarné par l’acteur et co-scénariste Jonathan Couzinié. Nous avons eu le sentiment que ces personnes qui « jouent à » Napoléon, font à peu près ce que nous faisons nous aussi dans la fabrication même d’une fiction. Nous jouons à faire vrai.

la mouche cf Appréciez-vous les costumes d’époque et les groupes de reconstitution historique ?
J’avais le désir de réaliser un jour un film en costume. Je savais aussi que c’était très couteux et complexe. Des centaines de figurants à gérer, des moyens techniques qui, aujourd’hui, ne sont pas à ma portée et un travail de documentation gigantesque. En 1969, Kubrick a tenté de faire un film sur l’Empereur, j’ai parcouru une infime partie de son travail de préparation, c’était colossal, un travail fou. Le film n’a jamais vu le jour mais il a mis en lumière l’ampleur de la tâche. J’ai opté pour une idée très simple, réalisable avec des moyens modestes, où les costumes et la reconstitution seraient relégués à leur fonction première : le décor.

la mouche cf Le personnage de l’Empereur et la période napoléonienne avaient-ils un sens particulier ? Cette fascination-là dit-elle quelque chose du personnage ? Auriez-vous pu faire le même film avec une reconstitution autour de César ?
Nous aurions probablement pu ancrer le projet dans un autre contexte, tout est possible. Mais il s’avère que Napoléon faisait écho à notre désir d’histoire. Il incarne l’idéologie patriarcale et totalitaire qui a nourri le personnage et le couple de mon film. Le Soldat Bébé se comporte en toute puissance. Il règne sur sa femme. C’est son seul et unique bataillon. Il l’embarque dans sa folie guerrière et s’y perd. En ce sens il a quelque chose de napoléonien. J’avais besoin de m’emparer de la figure de l’Empereur pour m’intéresser à sa chute. Une sorte de message adressé aux hommes qui se croient « par nature » supérieurs à leur femme pour ne pas dire à la femme. Cet héritage culturel et historique est une ombre qui nous colle à la peau. Et pour faire disparaître une ombre, il suffit de l’exposer à la lumière !

Que vive L'Empereur2

la mouche cf Vous abordez dans Que vive l’Empereur le besoin de reconnaissance et la quête d’une « famille » fondée sur des rêves communs plutôt que sur une filiation. Qu’est-ce qui vous intéressait dans cette thématique ?
L’idée très basique que nous ne sommes rien tout seul. C’est le paradoxe de l’Empereur. Le besoin de Bébé d’intégrer un bataillon est clairement motivé dans le film par ce besoin d’appartenir à quelque chose de grand. Son rêve est de devenir « un soldat comme les autres » et de rejoindre la Grande Armée. J’aime l’idée qu’on puisse se réinventer n’importe quand tout au long de sa vie. J’aime les personnages de film qui poursuivent mordicus leur désir de devenir, qui jamais ne jettent l’éponge sous prétexte que les rêves appartiendraient à l’enfance. Mais au-delà, la famille définie uniquement par les liens du mariage et de la filiation est terriblement angoissante. Cela lui confère la notion d’un entre-soi immobile, une entrave à la liberté d’être soi. Bébé veut se choisir une famille et j’ai eu envie de l’accompagner dans ce mouvement.

la mouche cf Vous questionnez aussi l’équilibre dans le couple, la dépendance, la domination, la place laissée aux compromis… Qu’est-ce qui vous intéressait dans le questionnement du rapport amoureux entre les deux personnages ?
Tout ça m’intéresse, la dépendance, la domination, la place laissée aux compromis. Ce qui a motivé le film c’est de me suffire de ça justement. Je n’ai pas cherché à faire entrer des événements extérieurs au couple, pas de personnages secondaires, pas d’intrigue ni de péripétie. Juste mettre en face l’un de l’autre un homme et une femme, un meneur et un suiveur et faire en sorte que l’organique même de leur équilibre s’inverse. On ne domine que si quelqu’un d’autre est dominé. Le jour où Ludo décide que s’en est trop, le vieux schéma tombe en lambeaux. J’avais l’image du film Dolls (de Takeshi Kitano, 2002, ndlr), avec les deux héros attachés pour toujours l’un à l’autre. J’avais envie de raconter à ma manière ce que cette imagerie a produit sur moi en son temps. L’idée même que la relation se construit sur le long terme, n’importe quelle relation d’amour d’ailleurs. Ce n’est pas les mariages et les divorces qui m’intéressent, ce sont tous ces autres moments qui ne portent pas de nom mais qui composent l’essentiel d’une histoire.

la mouche cf Quels ont été vos coups de cœur au cinéma cette année ?
Cette année a été particulière pour moi, j’ai eu un enfant, ce qui m’a tenu loin des salles de cinéma. J’en ai par contre profité pour faire le plein de classiques…Una Giornata particolare d’Ettore Scola, L’armée des ombres de Jean-Pierre Melville, Requiem pour un massacre d’Elem Klimov – sans doute le film le plus fou que j’aie pu voir jusqu’ici -, La dernière séance de Peter Bogdanovich qui m’a permis de découvrir le magnifique travail littéraire du scénariste et romancier Larry McMurtry – Lonesome Dove, Dead Man’s Walk – … je pourrais en citer beaucoup d’autres, mais voilà ceux qui me viennent spontanément.

la mouche cf Si vous êtes déjà venue, racontez-nous une anecdote vécue au festival de Clermont-Ferrand ? Sinon, qu’en attendez-vous ?
Je suis venue ici à deux reprises, Ton cœur au Hasard a remporté le Grand Prix en 2015 ainsi que le prix Adami d’interprétation pour l’actrice Julie Chevalier. Jonathan Couzinié avait aussi reçu une Mention spéciale du jury pour son interprétation.

 

 

Pour voir Que vive l’Empereur, rendez-vous aux séances de la compétition nationale F12.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *