Lunch with The Atom Station

Meeting with...

Interview with Nick Jordan, director of The Atom Station

 


la mouche cfHow did you get the idea to make a film in Iceland?

My work as an artist & filmmaker usually draws upon our relationship to the natural world in some way; how cultural, political, and economic factors influence both managed and seemingly wild places. As a dynamic, volatile landscape, on the edge of Europe, Iceland has been somewhere I’ve wanted to travel to for some time. Plus I was intrigued by Iceland’s infrastructure of energy plants, and had read quite a bit about the issue of aluminium corporations that are exploiting its hydro and geothermal resources.


la mouche cfDid you travel to Iceland before, and how long did you stay there?

No, this was the first time in Iceland. I try not to plan too much in advance of a filming trip, relying on chance encounters and unexpected moments to influence the film. For me it’s more interesting, and less prescriptive than following a researched schedule or script. There were a few key locations I wanted to visit, but for the most part it was an unplanned journey around the full length of Iceland’s infamous ring road, for one week, plus a second week in Reykjavik and the surrounding area.


la mouche cfAside from beautiful landscape shots, your film is also showing some terrifying and unexpected images of Iceland: dead whales, wreckage of an aircraft, industrial pipelines… When do you think these changes have begun?

My understanding is that it has always been a shifting and constantly evolving environment, characterised by massive natural forces as well as human intervention – though it’s probably changed more by human activity than anything else: 40% was tree covered when the first settlers arrived 1100 years ago, who then proceeded to chop all of it down.
Today there is an incredible abundance of astonishing landscapes of course; an epic and mind-blowing terrain, the likes of which I had never seen before. But I was particularly drawn to the unexpected, peculiar or differential features there – especially the more industrial architecture – so as not to make a generic, pictorial ‘landscape film’. 


la mouche cfThe absence of humanity gives us the feeling of a post-apocalyptic era. Combined with desert spaces plus the special architectures of the geo-thermal stations, we’re almost in Mars! Why give your film a science-fiction atmosphere?

The Atom Station forms part of a series of films I’ve been making lately, which, despite being documentary-based, I like to think have qualities of a sci-fi genre or mood, especially with the soundtrack. It’s one of the many layers I like to add to the film during editing, to take it somewhere a bit more oblique or atypical.
Iceland is extraordinarily otherworldly, so I was naturally drawn to that aspect, and the strange geodesic domes of the power plants. It’s no wonder that Iceland was used to practice the first Apollo moon landings, in 1967, (http://icelandnaturally.com/article/50th-anniversary-apollo-lunar-training), and of course its landscape is used extensively as an ‘alien’ location in many sci-fi films, including recently Interstellar, Star Trek and Prometheus.


la mouche cfThere are two voice overs in your film : one is by poet W.H. Auden, reading “Journey to Iceland“, and the other one is from environmental activist Ómar Ragnarsson. Why mix up poetry and information together?

I mentioned layering before, especially with regards the soundtrack, and so these two voices are further layers which go towards building up the completed picture. In a loose or lyrical way, I wanted to create a correspondence between the past and present, between the poetic and the political. It’s interesting for me to select both separate and interconnected parts to their words and expressions, and juxtapose them with the images and score. Hopefully it’s a way of creating something distinctive and interesting; blurring borders between things, or shifting the narrative away from either the resolutely polemical or the purely poetic, whilst still giving appropriate context or meaning to their words.


la mouche cfWe can hear a cold relation between Iceland and United States. What is the main problem between the two countries? The US still want to install a military base? Or is it about Alcoa (Aluminium company of America) installations?

There are excellent documentaries, such as Dreamland, which go into this in far more, expert detail. With The Atom Station though, I did want to highlight the issue of alluminium corporations, such as Alcoa Inc., who now harness over 80% of Iceland’s electrical energy, with more smelters and hydro-electric dams planned, threatening large areas of wilderness. Ómar Ragnarsson has been a tireless campaigner on this, and also produced his own documentaries on the subject. The issue is economic as well as ecological: Alcoa Inc. is structured so that their Icelandic subsidiaries operate in constant debt, but create huge off-shore profits to the parent company. The only profit that is left in the country is the wages they pay to their small number of employees, which accounts to less than 1% of national revenue.
http://www.savingiceland.org/2015/07/time-to-occupy-the-smelters/
So there are major issues of social fairness, exploitation, financial corruption and environmental destruction that many Icelanders are campaigning against.
http://heartoficeland.org/

Alcoa Inc. is also one of the USA’s largest weapons manufacturers, so I was interested in the past links and connections with the American military presence in Iceland, as satirised in Halldór Laxness’ novel The Atom Station. The book, set in the late 1940s, imagines Iceland sold cheaply to the USA, as a strategic military-industrial base. There’s a clear parallel there, with military/industrial corporations, such as Alcoa, buying their influence with today’s Icelandic government, and so that was the reason for naming the film The Atom Station.

Interestingly, news media has recently reported that the U.S. government have expressed a desire to reopen aspects of the NATO base in Iceland, in response to increasing Russian military activity in the region.


la mouche cfCan you tell us more about the mysterious shower in middle of nowhere at the end?

I have no idea how or why it is there. It’s an example of an unplanned, unexpected moment in the film. The kind of thing I’m always looking out for with my camera. If I’d tried to search for a running shower, in the middle of a lava field, I think I’d still be out there looking.


la mouche cfThe music is surrounding all the movie. How did you work with Lord Mongo?

I’m very lucky to be working with Lord Mongo, who astounds me with his musical wizardry and mastery of atmospheric soundscapes. This is the second film we have collaborated on, the first being The Rising https://vimeo.com/71654042. Plus we are currently working together on a third short film, Thought Broadcasting, which I’m currently filming. Lord Mongo prefers to work ‘blind’, without seeing any footage before composing and recording the score. Sometimes I provide him with a few, rough descriptions of particular scenes (ie ‘dead whale on beach’), and he delves into his cinematic imagination to conjure up the distinctive sounds on his analogue synths or guitars or samples. It’s an exciting and rewarding way to collaborate, as the film is always evolving and developing in response to composed sounds and images during the editing process. More sounds from Lord Mongo: https://tudorplasm.bandcamp.com/


la mouche cfIs it true that the first producer of Banana in Europe is Iceland??!!

I have no idea, but I’d like to believe it’s true – it’s an a-‘peeling’ thought! If so, they must grow them in greenhouses, heated by geothermal steam. Conjures up a bizarre image and sounds like an idea for another film…

.

The Atom Station was being shown in Lab Competition L5.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Lunch avec The Atom Station

Rencontre avec...

Rencontre avec Nick Jordan, réalisateur de The Atom Station (Station atomique)

  


la mouche cfComment avez-vous eu l’idée de faire un film en Islande ?

Mon travail d’artiste et de cinéaste se nourrit souvent de notre lien avec la nature, quel qu’il soit – comment les facteurs culturels, politiques et économiques influencent les espaces, aménagés ou (en apparence) sauvages. L’Islande est un paysage puissant et insaisissable, aux confins de l’Europe, et cela faisait longtemps que j’avais envie d’y aller. En outre, j’étais intrigué par l’infrastructure des équipements énergétiques en Islande, et j’avais lu pas mal de choses sur la question des entreprises d’aluminium qui exploitent les ressources hydrauliques et géothermiques du pays.


la mouche cfÉtiez-vous déjà allé en Islande ? Combien de temps y êtes-vous resté ?

Non, c’était mon premier voyage. Quand je pars pour faire un film, je m’efforce de ne pas trop prévoir, je laisse mon film se forger au fil des rencontres, des moments inattendus. À mon avis, c’est plus intéressant et moins contraignant que d’avoir un programme de recherche ou un scénario. Il y avait certains lieux importants que je voulais voir, mais à part ça, c’était, pour la première semaine, une aventure improvisée le long de cette terrible route qui fait le tour du pays, puis Reykjavik et ses alentours pour la deuxième semaine.


la mouche cfEn plus des magnifiques paysages, votre film montre des images terrifiantes et inattendues de l’Islande : des baleines mortes, l’épave d’un avion, d’énormes pipelines… À votre avis, quand ont eu lieu ces changements ?

Pour moi, il s’agit d’un environnement en constante évolution, caractérisé par de grandes forces naturelles auxquelles s’ajoutent l’intervention de l’homme – sans doute dans une plus grande mesure qu’ailleurs, puisque l’île était boisée à 40% avant que tout ne soit rasé par les colons, arrivés il y a 1100 ans. Aujourd’hui, il reste une quantité incroyable de paysages fabuleux, bien sûr. C’est un territoire légendaire et époustouflant comme je n’en avais jamais vu auparavant. Mais je voulais montrer les aspects inattendus, particuliers, décalés – surtout l’architecture industrielle – afin d’éviter de faire un film descriptif et passe-partout sur les paysages. 


la mouche cfL’absence des humains donne l’impression d’une époque post-apocalyptique. Entre les paysages déserts et l’architecture des stations géothermiques, on se croirait sur Mars ! Pourquoi donner à votre film cette ambiance de science-fiction ?

Station atomique fait partie d’une série de films que j’ai réalisés récemment et qui, tout en étant des documentaires, se rapprochent du genre ou de l’ambiance de la science-fiction, surtout en ce qui concerne la bande son. C’est une dimension que j’aime ajouter au film au montage, afin de lui donner un côté plus oblique ou atypique. L’Islande est un endroit extrêmement dépaysant, c’est donc un aspect qui m’a attiré, en plus de ces étranges dômes géodésiques des centrales. Pas étonnant que l’Islande ait été choisie pour les premiers essais d’alunissage d’Apollo en 1967 (http://icelandnaturally.com/article/50th-anniversary-apollo-lunar-training) et bien entendu, c’est un lieu de tournage très prisé pour les films de science-fiction qui se passent sur d’autres planètes, dont, récemment, Interstellar, Star Trek et Prometheus.


la mouche cfIl y a deux voix-off dans votre film : celle du poète W.H. Auden lisant « Voyage en Islande » et celle du militant écologiste Ómar Ragnarsson. Pourquoi avoir mélangé poésie et info ?

J’aime jouer sur plusieurs tableaux, surtout pour la bande son : ces deux voix sont deux dimensions supplémentaires qui contribuent à construire l’ensemble. Je voulais, de façon innocente ou lyrique, établir un lien entre passé et présent, entre le poétique et le politique. Ce qui m’intéresse, c’est de prendre séparément certaines de leurs paroles ou expressions et de les juxtaposer avec les images et la musique. J’espère avoir réussi à créer quelque chose de différent et d’intéressant : brouiller les limites entre les choses, éviter une narration franchement polémique ou purement poétique, tout en apportant à ces paroles le contexte ou l’interprétation qu’elles méritent.


la mouche cfLes relations semblent tendues entre l’Islande et les États-Unis. Quel est le principal problème entre ces deux pays ? Les États-Unis veulent-ils toujours installer une base militaire ? Ou bien s’agit-il des structures d’Alcoa (Aluminum Company of America) ?

Il existe d’excellents documentaires, comme Dreamland, qui traitent de ce thème de fond en comble. Avec Station atomique, je voulais tout de même aborder le sujet des entreprises d’aluminium comme Alcoa, Inc., qui exploite aujourd’hui 80% de l’énergie électrique de l’Islande et prévoit d’installer encore d’autres fonderies et barrages hydro-électriques, ce qui menace d’immenses étendues naturelles. Ómar Ragnarsson a milité inlassablement contre cela et réalisé des documentaires sur le sujet. Les enjeux sont à la fois économiques et écologiques : l’organisation interne d’Alcoa Inc. fait que ses filiales islandaises sont constamment endettées mais génèrent d’énormes bénéfices pour l’entreprise mère. Le seul bénéfice pour le pays, ce sont les salaires versés à un petit nombre d’employés, ce qui représente à peine 1% du revenu national. http://www.savingiceland.org/2015/07/time-to-occupy-the-smelters/
Ce sont ces questions de justice sociale, d’exploitation, de corruption financière et de destruction de l’environnement qui suscitent la colère de nombreux Islandais. http://heartoficeland.org/

En outre, Alcoa Inc. est un des plus grands fabricants d’armes américains, je me suis donc penché sur l’histoire de la présence militaire américaine en Islande, dont se moque amplement Halldór Laxness dans son roman Station atomique. Le livre, dont l’histoire se déroule à la fin des années 1940, imagine une Islande vendue à bas prix aux États-Unis pour devenir une base stratégique militaire et industrielle. Le parallèle avec le livre est clair, car on voit des entreprises industrielles ou militaires, comme Alcoa, acheter leur mainmise sur le gouvernement islandais, voilà pourquoi j’ai appelé mon film Station atomique.

D’ailleurs, j’ai lu récemment dans la presse que le gouvernement américain avait exprimé le souhait de rouvrir partiellement la base de l’OTAN en Islande en réaction à la montée de la présence militaire russe dans la région.


la mouche cfPouvez-vous nous en dire plus sur la mystérieuse douche au milieu de nulle part que l’on voit à la fin ?

Je ne sais pas du tout ce qu’elle faisait là. Voilà un exemple de moment inattendu dans le film. Le genre de chose que je guette avec ma caméra. Si je m’étais mis en tête de trouver une douche qui coule au milieu d’un champ de lave, je crois que j’y serais encore.


la mouche cfLa musique enveloppe tout le film. Parlez-nous de votre travail avec Lord Mongo.

J’ai beaucoup de chance de bosser avec Lord Mongo, qui m’impressionne par son génie musical et sa maîtrise des paysages sonores d’ambiance. C’est le deuxième film sur lequel nous avons collaboré, le premier étant The Rising https://vimeo.com/71654042.. En outre, nous travaillons en ce moment sur un troisième court métrage, Thought Broadcasting, que je suis en train de tourner. Lord Mongo préfère travailler « à l’aveugle » et ne pas voir d’images avant de composer et d’enregistrer la musique. Parfois je lui décris sommairement telle ou telle scène (par exemple : « baleine morte sur la plage ») et il plonge dans son imagination cinématographique pour créer les sons qui correspondent sur synthétiseurs analogues, guitares ou samples. C’est passionnant et gratifiant de bosser comme ça, on laisse le film évoluer au montage au fil des sons et des images. Pour écouter d’autres œuvres de Lord Mongo : https://tudorplasm.bandcamp.com/


la mouche cfEst-il vrai que l’Islande est le premier producteur de bananes en Europe ??!!

Aucune idée, mais j’ai envie d’y croire. L’idée est alléchante ! Si c’est vrai, ils doivent les faire pousser dans des serres chauffées à la vapeur géothermique. Voilà qui m’évoque une image insolite – peut-être une idée pour un prochain film…

Station atomique était en compétition Labo dans le programme L5.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *