Dinner with Kommittén

Meeting with...

Interview with Gunhild Enger and Jenni Toivoniemi, directors of Kommittén (The Committee)

 

la mouche cf How did your collaboration on this film start?
We were invited to CPH:LAB program to collaborate together and luckily shared same sense of humor and found the possibility inspiring.

la mouche cf For the uninitiated, could you explain a little bit more about this junction between the three countries and its significance?
Treriksröset is placed in Lapland and it’s a borderstone between Norway, Sweden and Finland. It’s in the middle of wilderness and a popular place for tourists to visit – even though it’s just a yellow block of concrete.  It’s history is quite funny – they originally planned (in 1897) a stone in co-operation with Russia, Sweden and Norway but could not decide on it. Then they tried again in 1901 but didn’t have enough concrete. The current yellow concrete stone is from 1926.

la mouche cf Can you tell us a bit more about the casting and shooting process? In what country did you conduct it?
Making of this film was very much an experiment of “the committee film making” with writer-directors from different countries and main producer from the third country (and eight financiers for a short film!). We wanted to make this film as an international co-production to learn and see if it could benefit the film. It was fun, crazy, exhausting and surreal. We had people from all Nordic countries working with the film, so you can’t think of much more Nordic film. Casting was a long process we did in all three countries. As we used a combination of professional and amateur actors, and had to find a way to test them together. We shot at the actual place in the wilderness for two days where you need to first take a boat and then walk for 45 minutes. Luckily our “street casted” Sami actor Ole-Thomas Baal had a crawler as he is hearding reindeers in the area. The interiors were shot in Skövde, southern Sweden.

la mouche cf The film works really well as a short, as it has a funny, punchy ending. Are you interested in exploring other formats? Other genres?
Yes, we both have feature projects and we are interested in working together again at some point. As for genres – sure I’m interested in many genres and playing with them. I suppose the most interesting new thing can be found from between any genres really. I’m interested in finding the right way of making each film.

la mouche cf Any cinematic coups de cœur in the past year you’d like to tell us about?
Do you mean favorite films from last year? It was a good year for Finnish film because of two great debut films – Little Wing by Selma Vilhunen and The Happiest Day in the Life of Olli Mäki by Juho Kuosmanen, both strong and unique films. From around the world I have still many films I haven’t yet seen but the ones that I really loved so far were Farhadi’s Salesman, Tom Ford’s Nocturnal Animals and Maren Ade’s Toni Erdmann.

la mouche cf If you’ve already been to the Clermont-Ferrand, could you share with us an anecdote or story from the festival? If not, what are your expectations for this edition?
We actually met each other in Clermont Ferrand in 2013 and danced all night, so it’s really special to come there again with a common film. I was really impressed by the enthusiasm of the audiences of the festival. I saw an old lady cursing in the line when she did not get a ticket to my screening. I loved that! So I’m looking forward to the most short film loving audience in the world and meeting people.

la mouche cf Are any other releases scheduled?
We premiered in Locarno 2016 and it’s been shown in several festivals including Chicago and Gothenburg. There are couple of other festivals coming up, but I don’t think they are public yet.

 

 

Kommittén is being shown in International Competition I5.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Dîner avec Kommittén (Le comité)

Rencontre avec...
I5-3-Komitten

Entretien avec Gunhild Enger et Jenni Toivoniemi, réalisateurs de Kommittén (Le comité)

 

la mouche cf Comment a débuté votre collaboration ?
Nous étions invités par l’équipe du programme CPH:LAB à collaborer et heureusement nous partageons le même sens de l’humour, nous avons donc tout de suite donc trouvé cette idée intéressante !

la mouche cf Pour ceux qui ne connaissent pas bien la géographie de cette région, pouvez-vous nous en dire plus sur la jonction entre ces trois pays et son importance ?
Treriksröset se trouve en Laponie et c’est une pierre qui marque la frontière entre la Norvège, la Suède et la Finlande. Elle se trouve au milieu d’une région sauvage et attire beaucoup de touristes, malgré le fait qu’il ne s’agit que d’un bloc de béton jaune. Son histoire est amusante. Au départ, en 1897, ils avaient prévu d’installer une pierre en collaboration avec la Russie, la Suède et la Norvège mais n’arrivaient pas à se décider quant à la pierre. Ils ont relancé ça en 1901 mais n’avaient pas assez de béton. Le bloc actuel date de 1926.

la mouche cf Pouvez-vous nous en dire un peu plus sur le processus de casting et le tournage ? Dans quel pays s’est-il déroulé ?
La production de ce film est un bel exemple de « réalisation en comité » avec des scénaristes et réalisateurs venus de différents pays et un producteur principal d’un troisième pays (et 8 financiers pour un court !) Nous tenions à réaliser ce film à partir d’une co-production internationale pour apprendre et voir si cela peut bénéficier au film. C’était drôle, fou, épuisant et surréaliste. Nous avions des membres de l’équipe venus de toute la Scandinavie, donc on ne peut imaginer un film qui soit plus nordique. Le processus de casting a été long et s’est déroulé dans les trois pays. Nous avons utilisé des acteurs professionnels et amateurs et nous avons donc dû leur faire faire des essais ensemble. Nous avons tout filmé sur le lieu-même pendant deux jours, et pour y arriver, vous devez prendre un bateau puis marcher pendant 45 minutes !

la mouche cf Le film fonctionne parfaitement bien en tant que court métrage, avec une fin drôle et bien ficelée Avez-vous envie d’explorer d’autres formats ?
Oui, nous avons déjà des idées de longs et nous aimerions travailler ensemble de nouveau. En ce qui concerne les genres… j’aimerais jouer avec plusieurs genres. En fait, ce que je trouve très intéressant, c’est quand les genres se recoupent. Je cherche surtout à trouver la meilleure façon de raconter chaque histoire.

la mouche cf Quels ont été vos coups de cœur au cinéma cette année ?
Ca a été une bonne année pour les films finlandais, grâce à deux premiers films – Little Wing de Selma Vilhunen et Olli Mäki de Juho Kuosmanen, deux films forts et uniques. Quant aux films étrangers, j’ai encore pas mal de films à voir mais jusqu’à présent j’ai adoré Le client de Asghar Farhadi et Nocturnal Animals de Tom Ford.

la mouche cf Si vous êtes déjà venus, racontez-nous une anecdote vécue au Festival de Clermont-Ferrand ? Sinon, qu’en attendez-vous ?
Nous nous sommes rencontrés à Clermont-Ferrand en 2013 et nous avions dansé toute la nuit ! Le fait de revenir avec un film en commun représente beaucoup pour nous. J’ai été touché par l’enthousiasme du public au festival. J’ai vu une vieille dame pester quand elle n’a pas réussi à acheter un billet pour voir mon film. J’ai adoré ! J’ai hâte d’aller à la rencontre de ce public fan de courts et de rencontrer du monde.

 

Pour voir Kommittén, rendez-vous aux séances de la compétition internationale I5.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *