Night cap with Goût Bacon (Bacon Flavor)

Meeting with...

Interview with Emma Benestan, director of Goût bacon [Bacon Flavor]

 

la mouche cf How did you come up with the idea for your film?
A long time ago, when I was having a drink with my friend Morgan Simon (director of several shorts that have been screened at Clermont, including Essaie de mourir jeune [Try to Die Young] and Réveiller les morts [Waking the Dead], in the National Competitions for 2015 and 2016 respectively), he told me that he’d just overheard some girls on the bus talking very seriously about bacon flavor. They were wondering whether it was forbidden or not. The conversation was very funny and we both thought it would be a great opening for a film. But it was mostly our conversations with young people and the idea of the Cinétalents initiative of 1000 Visages that made our film possible. We made it while in residency at Cinétalents. We had to make a film with twenty or so young people in a very short time. We had three days for shooting and an improv workshop to help us out.

la mouche cf What interested you in the young teenagers’ relationship to love?
I wanted to talk about two boys who were in love in their own way, where one had an idea of love and the other was in heartache, because I was fed up with the caricature of young boys from the projects who are just plain horrible to their sisters and misogynistic with their girlfriends. I wanted to get beyond that cliché and show the fragility of the boys and the strength of the girls I was dealing with.
There’s plenty of me in the Bilel /Adil duo. When each one winds up on the other side, they experience girls and what they both define as “love” through laughter.

la mouche cf And what interested you in looking at the social pressures they’re faced with, especially among their peers, as these are exacerbated by the power of social media?
A girlfriend talked to me about Snapchat when we were shooting with the teenagers. I was immediately struck by this object that stands on opposites sides of the contradiction of modernity: there’s the ephemeral (when you receive a snap, you can only see it once and then it’s immediately deleted) and the eternal: information that lasts and takes root in the court of social opinion. Snaps are a powerful tool for rumors and fantasies because they’re merely instantaneous memories that can give rise to all manner of suppositions. Fuelled by the non-stop stream of videos posted on the internet, which they can now watch on their phones, teenagers are including this new form of social contact into their daily lives.
When I talk about these new technologies and read stories about numerous teenagers committing suicide after violent, humiliating videos surface, I immediately want to confront the issue, the tragedy of these uncontrollable images that are a genuine weapon and enemy of the Self against others. I wanted to take the opposite approach and make a comedy out of the whole issue. Here, snaps are an excuse for a romantic quest. And even if this quest comes across as a lie to both of them, it allows each one to become aware of something. Bilal gets stripped by Bahia and finds out that girls are not as easy as he thought, and Adil shares Jennifer’s pain and consequently has to get over his homophobia. Just like these two guys and their adolescence, caught between tradition and modernity, coming to terms with certain facts of life: chatting a girl up, kissing her in front of everyone and against taboos. Arbitrary taboos that can be either frivolous or terrifying. She tasted like bacon.

Gout bacon 1

la mouche cf Why did you choose to go further and examine the community boundaries of the group that the young protagonists must limit themselves to in order to be accepted by their peers, and the contrast between each one’s inner position and his apparent attitude?
The question of community boundaries is the same as the question of the court that is inherent in any microcosm of society. What am I meant to feel or think within this group, what values am I meant to uphold? But those same values are overturned when the girls talk about the bacon flavor, or when Adil has to pass as a homosexual in order to be able to touch Jennyfer. Because in that moment, through his exclusion, Adil also understand its.
I’m a great admirer of Rohmer’s films, and the question of seeming and being is at the heart of romantic banter. What do I choose to say, to show, and what do I feel differently? That was a process that very quickly allowed me to get into comedy and to work on the sub-text with young actors embarking upon their first professional experience.

la mouche cf Do you think that some taboos can make young people suffer by cutting them off from others?
There are taboos at every stage of life. I just think that exclusion can be very strong, and today, through social media, it can have very cruel effects. Snaps are a powerful tool for rumors and fantasies because they’re merely instantaneous memories that can give rise to all manner of suppositions. Fuelled by the non-stop stream of videos posted on the internet, which they can now watch on their phones, teenagers are including this new form of social contact into their daily lives. At the same time, the film tends not to judge anyone, but rather to observe, and especially to make them be able to laugh at hypocrisy and talk just a little about the “taboo” of homosexuality. At any rate, during the filming, we discussed pressures and homosexuality with the kids, and I think those discussions were necessary.

la mouche cf And how did you envision the characters of the young neighbors who put pressure on the protagonists?
I wanted to get right into the countdown for the start of Bilel’s quest for girls, so those characters had to turn up pretty quickly and violently. That’s also probably the “serious” scene in the film, the most “dramatic”. Especially since we shot it in Grigny, right in the projects where many of the young people who worked on the film come from.

la mouche cf Any cinematic coups de cœur in the past year you’d like to tell us about?
One huge coup de cœur: Ken Loach’s I, Daniel Blake.

la mouche cf If you’ve already been to Clermont-Ferrand, could you share with us an anecdote from the festival? If not, what are your expectations for this year?
The first time I came to Clermont-Ferrand I was seventeen, I was taking a film elective in high school, it was snowing, it was really cold. I remember going to post a letter in the letterbox which was one floor up. And then I met a director whose film I really loved. And that was really great. There’s a genuine occasion for the audience and the filmmakers to meet. That’s pretty magical.

 

Goût bacon is being shown in National Competition F4.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Dernier verre avec Goût bacon

Rencontre avec...

Interview de Emma Benestan, réalisatrice de Goût bacon

 

la mouche cf D’où est venue l’inspiration pour Goût bacon ?
Il y a longtemps, alors que je buvais un verre avec un ami Morgan Simon (réalisateur de plusieurs courts passés par Clermont dont Essaie de mourir jeune et Réveiller les morts, compétition nationale 2015 et 2016), Morgan m’a raconté qu’il venait d’entendre des filles parler de goût bacon dans le bus de manière très sérieuse. Elles se demandaient si c’était péché ou pas. La conversation était très amusante et on s’est tous les deux dit que c’était une super idée de début de film. Mais c’est surtout les discussions avec les jeunes et l’idée du dispositif Cinétalents créé par 1000 visages qui a aussi permis à ce film-là d’exister. Le film s’est fait lors d’une résidence Cinétalents. Il s’agissait de faire un film avec une vingtaine de jeunes en peu de temps. On avait trois jours de tournage et un atelier d’improvisation qui nous a nourris.

la mouche cf Qu’est-ce qui vous intéressait dans le rapport des jeunes adolescents à l’amour ?
Je voulais parler de deux garçons amoureux à leur manière, l’un avec une idée de l’amour, l’autre avec une petite souffrance parce que j’en avais marre de cette caricature de jeunes garçons de banlieue juste méchants avec leurs sœurs et misogynes avec leurs copines. Je voulais sortir de ce cliché et donner à saisir la fragilité des garçons et la force des filles que j’avais en face de moi.
Je suis beaucoup partie du duo que forment Bilel et Adil dans la réalité. En échouant chacun de l’autre côté, ils font l’expérience des filles et de ce qu’ils définissent ensemble comme « l’amour » en rigolant.

la mouche cf Et dans le questionnement de la pression sociale à laquelle ils doivent faire face, en particulier entre jeunes, multipliée qui plus est par le pouvoir des réseaux sociaux ?
C’est une amie qui, au cours d’un tournage avec des adolescents, m’a parlé du snap. J’ai été très vite intriguée par cet objet qui joue à la fois sur les deux versants d’une modernité contradictoire : l’éphémère (lorsqu’on reçoit un snap on ne peut le visionner qu’une fois et ensuite il se supprime instantanément) et l’éternité : l’information qui dure et prend place au cœur du tribunal social. Le snap sert comme outil fort à la rumeur et au fantasme dans le fait qu’il n’est qu’une mémoire instantanée, qui peut donc donner lieu à toutes les suppositions. Nourris par les vidéos postées en chaîne sur Internet et par le biais maintenant du téléphone portable, les adolescents intègrent cette nouvelle forme de rapport social dans leur quotidien.
Lorsque l’on parle de ces nouvelles technologies et qu’on lit certains faits divers sur le suicide de nombreux adolescents à la suite de vidéos violentes les humiliant, on a envie directement de se tourner vers le drame, la tragédie de cette image incontrôlable, véritable arme et adversaire du Moi face aux autres. J’ai voulu prendre le contrepied et en faire une comédie. Le snap sert ici de prétexte à la quête amoureuse. Et même si cette quête est présentée pour les deux comme un mensonge, elle va leur permettre à chacun de prendre conscience de quelque chose. Bilal se fait dépouiller par Bahia et apprend que les filles ne sont pas si faciles qu’il l’entend, et Adil partagera la souffrance de Jennifer et devra ainsi passer son homophobie. À l’image de leur duo et de cette adolescence, entre tradition et modernité, il faut composer avec les éléments de la vie : draguer une fille, l’embrasser face aux regards et à l’interdit. Interdit que l’on décide, qui peut être léger comme terrible. Elle avait un goût bacon.

la mouche cf Pourquoi avoir choisi d’ajouter à cela le questionnement des frontières communautaires du groupe auxquelles les jeunes protagonistes sont tenus de se limiter pour être acceptés par leurs pairs et le contraste entre le positionnement intime de chacun des personnages et son attitude apparente ?
La question des frontières communautaires n’est autre que la question du tribunal interne à tout microcosme dans une société. Qu’est-ce que dans ce groupe je suis censé ressentir, penser, à quelles valeurs je suis censée adhérer ? Mais ces valeurs sont remises en doute comme les filles le font lorsqu’elles débattent sur le goût bacon, ou encore lorsqu’Adil se trouve à faire semblant d’être homosexuel pour parvenir à toucher Jennifer. Parce qu’à ce moment-là, Adil, dans son exclusion, la comprend aussi.
Je suis une grande admiratrice des films de Rohmer et cette question du paraître / être est aussi au cœur du marivaudage amoureux. Qu’est-ce que je choisis de dire, de montrer et qu’est-ce que je ressens différemment ? C’est un procédé qui me permettait très vite d’être dans la comédie et de travailler le sous-texte avec les jeunes comédiens qui faisaient leur première expérience professionnelle.

Gout bacon 1

la mouche cf Pensez-vous que certains tabous peuvent faire souffrir une partie des jeunes et les isoler des autres ?
Des tabous, il y en a à tout âge. Je pense juste que l’exclusion peut être très forte, et opère de manière très cruelle aujourd’hui via les réseaux sociaux. Le snap sert comme outil fort à la rumeur et au fantasme dans le fait qu’il n’est qu’une mémoire instantanée, qui peut donc donner lieu à toutes les suppositions. Nourris par les vidéos postées en chaîne sur Internet et par le biais maintenant du téléphone portable, les adolescents intègrent cette nouvelle forme de rapport social dans leur quotidien. Néanmoins, le film ne tend pas à juger les uns ou les autres, mais bien à faire un constat et surtout à pouvoir rire de ses faux-semblants et parler justement un peu, du « tabou » de l’homosexualité. En tout cas, pendant le tournage du film, nous avons pu avoir de longues discussions sur la pression, sur l’homosexualité avec les jeunes, et je pense que cette discussion est nécessaire.

la mouche cf Et comment avez-vous pensé les personnages des jeunes voisins qui mettent la pression aux protagonistes ?
Je voulais très vite qu’on soit pris dans un compte à rebours pour lancer la quête des filles avec Bilel et donc il fallait que ces personnages interviennent assez vite et de manière violente. C’est peut-être aussi la séquence « sérieuse » du film, la plus « dramatique ». D’autant plus qu’on a tourné à Grigny, au cœur de la cité d’où viennent une grande partie des jeunes qui participaient au tournage.

la mouche cf Quels ont été vos coups de cœur au cinéma cette année ?
Un énorme coup de cœur : Moi, Daniel Blake de Ken Loach.

la mouche cf Si vous êtes déjà venue, racontez-nous une anecdote vécue au Festival de Clermont-Ferrand ? Sinon, qu’en attendez-vous ?
La première fois que je suis venue à Clermont c’était à 17 ans, j’étais en option cinéma, il neigeait, il faisait très froid. Mais je me rappelle être allée mettre une lettre dans la boîte aux lettres qui était à l’étage. Et ensuite j’ai rencontré un réalisateur dont j’avais beaucoup aimé le film. Et ça c’était super. Il y a une vraie possibilité de rencontre entre le public et les réalisateurs. C’est assez magique.

 

Pour voir Goût bacon, rendez-vous aux séances de la compétition nationale F4.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *