Breakfast with Garden Party

Meeting with...
garden party

Interview with Florian Babikian, Vincent Bayoux, Victor Caire, Théophile Dufresne, Gabriel Grapperon and Lucas Navarro, directors of Garden Party

 

la mouche cf What inspired you to make Garden Party ?
We are all animal enthusiasts in general. And we chose to base the film on a film Gabriel made a few years ago, a story about two toads who chase a fly in a stream. We wanted the film to be light-hearted. At the same time, we wanted to add something original and offbeat to the scenario, something out of the ordinary, so we had the idea for the crime scene. That led us to a decor and an atmosphere that we liked.

la mouche cf How did you work on the animation and create the aquatic and light effects in the film?
For the animation, we did lots of observation to analyze the movements and facial mimics of amphibians. We scoured the Internet in search of the best references possible. We even brought vivariums into our house to observe and film frogs on a daily basis. It’s a bit as if we lived with our characters. We wanted an extremely lifelike animation, with the flexibility that animation offers to exaggerate the personalities. The female frog was a difficult one to approach for the animation as well as the design. To make her a bit sexy and graceful, we had to cheat a little bit to reinforce our intentions.
All the water animation (sprinklers, swimming pool, etc.) were simulated in 3D, and required lots of time calculating. Simulations are always difficult to manage, between the desired effect and the result obtained. It took quite a bit of patience.
We tried to achieve the natural and realistic aspect of documentary films. We tried several tricks to enhance the images (chromatic aberration, dust particles, smudging of the lenses, film grain, etc…). All of that greatly contributed to the film’s aesthetic quality.

la mouche cf How did you share the work among six heads and twelve hands?
We were a fairly homogeneous team, where everyone could contribute to each stage of the project. We were at ease during busy periods when we needed the manpower to focus on one aspect of the film (storyboard, modelling, animation, etc.). The rest of the time, we split the tasks up in accordance with the schedule and our priorities, putting each person’s skills to the best use.
We were lucky to have the whole group involved in the creation of the scenario, making it possible to bounce ideas off of each other. That helped a lot.

la mouche cf Are you interested in documentary films? Why did you choose frogs and toads to be the guests at your Garden Party?
We really like the vision that animals have, which is simpler and more direct than our own. And toads fit quite well with that primitive aspect. Because they are rigid and binary, that makes them naturally more comical. The idea to create a contrast between the lightness of an amphibian’s life and a murder scene was very appealing to us. That allowed us to pace the film between lightness and tension.

la mouche cf So, which films make you laugh the most?
We don’t all have the same tastes, but in general, we like unusual or somewhat gratuitous humor, like the kind you can find in viral videos on the Internet or in web series. It’s a good source of inspiration for us. In cinema, we can cite the Coen brothers (Burn After Reading, Fargo), films by Tarantino, all those mixtures of violence and second-degree humor.

Garden party 2

la mouche cf Any cinematic coups de cœur in the past year you’d like to tell us about?
Captain Fantastic, Zootopia. Jungle Book too, for the technical performance.

la mouche cf If you’ve already been to Clermont-Ferrand, could you share with us an anecdote from the festival? If not, what are your expectations for this year?
We are aware of the festival’s reputation. We expect some wonderful encounters and high-quality short films. We are very proud to have been selected. We are also delighted to visit the city, which looks magnificent.

la mouche cf Are any other screenings of Garden Party scheduled?
It will be shown at the Court Mais Bon Festival in Puy-en-Velay on 11 February 2017, and at the festival of fantasy cinema in Porto, Fantasporto, next March.

 

 

 

Garden Party is being shown in National Competition F6.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Breakfast avec Garden Party

Rencontre avec...
garden party

Interview de Florian Babikian, Vincent Bayoux, Victor Caire, Théophile Dufresne, Gabriel Grapperon et Lucas Navarro, réalisateurs de Garden Party

 

 

la mouche cf Comment avez-vous eu l’inspiration pour Garden Party ?
On est tous passionnés par le monde animalier en général. Et on a choisi de se baser sur un film que Gabriel avait fait il y a quelques années, qui racontait l’histoire de 2 crapauds qui chassent une mouche dans un ruisseau. On voulait un esprit léger pour le film. Dans le même temps, on voulait ajouter quelque chose d’original et de décalé au scénario, pour sortir de l’ordinaire, et on a eu l’idée de cette scène de crime. Ça a amené un décor et une ambiance qui nous ont plu.

la mouche cf Comment avez-vous travaillé l’animation et créé les effets aqueux et de lumière dans le film ?
Pour l’animation, il a fallu beaucoup d’observations pour analyser les mouvements des amphibiens, leurs mimiques. On a fouillé Internet a la recherche des meilleures références possibles. On a même aménagé des vivariums dans notre colocation pour observer et filmer des grenouilles au quotidien. C’est un peu comme si on avait vécu avec nos personnages. On voulait une animation très fidèle à la réalité, avec la flexibilité qu’offre l’animation pour exagérer les caractères. La grenouille femelle a été très compliquée à aborder en termes d’animation, autant que sur le design, pour la rendre un peu sexy et gracieuse, il faut toujours un peu tricher pour renforcer les intentions.
Toutes les animations d’eaux (arroseurs, piscine, etc.) ont été simulées en 3D, au prix de beaucoup de temps de calcul. Les simulations sont toujours difficiles à gérer, entre l’effet désiré et le résultat obtenu. Il a fallu pas mal de patience.
On a essayé de retrouver l’aspect naturel et très réaliste des films documentaires. On a utilisé de nombreuses astuces pour enrichir les images (aberration chromatiques, particules de poussière, salissures de lentilles, grain photo etc..). Tout ça apporte beaucoup à l’esthétique du film.

la mouche cf Comment avez-vous partagé le travail à six têtes et douze mains ?
On formait une équipe assez homogène, où tout le monde pouvait apporter dans chaque étape du projet. C’était très confortable quand on rencontrait des périodes chargées, ou il fallait de la main d’œuvre dans un seul domaine (storyboard, modélisation, animation etc.).
Le reste du temps, on répartissait les tâches en fonction du planning et des priorités, en utilisant au mieux les compétences de chacun.
On a eu la chance d’avoir tout le groupe impliqué sur le scénario, pour faire rebondir les idées au maximum. Ça a beaucoup aidé.

la mouche cf Avez-vous un intérêt pour les films documentaires ? Pourquoi avoir choisi des grenouilles et des crapauds pour être les invités de votre Garden Party ?
On aime bien cette vision animale, qui est plus simple que la nôtre, plus directe. Et les crapauds collent assez bien à cet aspect primitif. Parce qu’ils sont rigides, binaires, donc ça les rend comiques par nature. L’idée de créer un contraste fort entre la vie légère des amphibiens et une scène de meurtre nous plaisait beaucoup. Ça nous a permis de rythmer le film entre légèreté et tension.

Garden party 2

la mouche cf Enfin, quels films vous font le plus rire ?

On n’a pas tous les même goûts, mais de manière générale on aime bien l’humour insolite, un peu gratuit, qu’on peut retrouver dans les vidéos virales sur Internet ou les web séries. C’est une bonne source d’inspiration pour nous. Pour le cinéma on peut citer les frères Coen (Burn after reading, Fargo), Les films de Tarantino, tous ces mélanges de violences et de second degré.

la mouche cf Quels ont été vos coups de coeur au cinéma cette année ?
Captain Fantastic, Zootopia. Jungle Book aussi, pour la performance technique.

la mouche cf Si vous êtes déjà venus, racontez-nous une anecdote vécue au Festival de Clermont-Ferrand ? Sinon, qu’en attendez-vous ?
On connaît la réputation du festival, ça promet de belles rencontres et des courts métrages de grande qualité. On est très fiers de faire partie de la sélection. On est aussi ravis de visiter la ville qui a l’air magnifique.

la mouche cf Le film a-t-il bénéficié d’autres diffusions publiques ?
Il sera montré au festival Court mais bon le 11 février 2017 au Puy-en-Velay et au festival du cinéma fantastique de Porto, Fantasporto, en mars prochain.

 

 

Pour voir Garden Party, rendez-vous aux séances de la compétition nationale F6.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *