Take away critic #2 : “A Single Life” (I12) – Scratch my life!

Take away critics

A SINGLE LIFE

 Job ROGGEVEEN, Joris OPRINS, Marieke BLAAUW

Pays-bas / 2014 / 00:02:15

 

In the category of “very short” films selected this year, A Single Life provides an example of narrative effectiveness. In only 2’15”, this burlesque animation from the Dutch trio Job, Joris and Marieke brings us face to face with a young woman whose life is turned upside down the day she receives a mysterious vinyl album.

This seemingly ordinary record reveals itself as something more than just a simple musical object. By playing it, the young woman realizes that the record allows her to travel in time. A simple jump on the album results in a jump in time: the pizza she held in her hand is eaten, but regenerates if she plays the record backwards. That is all she needs to embark on a journey in time and transform herself into a quantum voyager!

And too bad if the melancholy music leads us to favor a trip back to the past à la Marty McFly. The character in fact prefers to explore the future. A less than joyous future where we see her end up definitively alone, even if a baby announces a change in fortune. But, it is with this birth, brought about by speeding up the record, that things begin to unravel. The young Mother, not really ready, tries to return to the past, between pizza and pregnancy. But a rewinding mistake sends her back far beyond her lunch break…

Each situation takes place in the closed environment of her apartment. The decors and the computer-generated animation, although simple, are detailed and colorful. The burlesque humor is present at each jump of the record, as our character is unable to handle each new jump in time. The numerous falls and the increasingly difficult obstacles lead to several repetitive gags and comical gestures.

At the end of this big mix, we will have a hard time applauding the performance of this young voyager as her destiny is reduced to ash in the blink of an eye. Moral of the story: by always wanting to go faster, we run the risk of losing everything. Luckily, given the film’s success, it seems that the directors took their time.

 

Programmes for viewing A Single Life: International Competition I12 and SCO.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Critique à emporter #2 : « A Single Life » (I12) – Scratch my life!

Critique à emporter

A SINGLE LIFE

Job ROGGEVEEN, Joris OPRINS, Marieke BLAAUW

Pays-bas / 2014 / 00:02:15

 

Dans la catégorie des « très courts » sélectionnés cette année, A single life fait figure d’exemple en matière d’efficacité narrative. En seulement 2’15″, cette animation burlesque du trio hollandais Job, Joris et Marieke nous met face au destin d’une jeune femme dont la vie bascule le jour où elle reçoit un mystérieux vinyle.

Car le vinyle a priori banal, se révèle avoir d’autres fonctions que celui de simple support musical. En le jouant, la jeune femme se rend compte que le disque lui permet de voyager dans le temps. Une simple saute de lecture devient ainsi une saute dans le temps : la pizza qu’elle tenait dans sa main est grignotée mais se régénère si le disque est joué en arrière. Il ne lui en faut pas plus pour se lancer dans un voyage temporel et se transformer en djette quantique !

Et tant pis si la musique mélancolique nous faisait plutôt miroiter un voyage dans le passé, façon Marty McFly. Le personnage préfère en effet l’exploration du futur. Un futur pas si réjouissant, où on la voit évoluer définitivement seule, même si un bambin semble annoncer un tournant. Mais c’est justement avec cette naissance, provoquée en accélérant le vinyle que les choses se gâtent. La jeune Maman, pas vraiment prête, tente de retourner en arrière, entre la part de pizza et la grossesse. Mais une erreur de rewind l’amènera bien loin de sa pause déjeuner…

L’ensemble des situations se passe en huis clos, dans l’appartement. Les décors et l’animation de synthèse, bien que très simples, sont soignés et colorés. Côté humour, le burlesque s’entrevoit lors des sautes de lecture, qui empêchent notre personnage de maîtriser à nouveau le temps. Les chutes sont nombreuses et les obstacles de plus en plus difficiles à surmonter, provoquant plusieurs gags de répétition et de comique de geste.

À la fin de ce grand mix, on aura un peu du mal à applaudir la performance de la jeune djette tant son destin est réduit en cendre en l’espace d’un instant. Morale de l’histoire : en voulant toujours aller plus vite, on risque de tout perdre. Heureusement, vu la réussite du film, il semble que les réalisateurs, eux, aient pris leur temps.

 

Pour voir A Single Life, rendez-vous aux séances de la Compétition Internationale I12 et du programme Scolaire.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *