Dinner with Are you Listening, Mother?

Meeting with...

An interview with Tuna Kaptan, director of Are you Listening, Mother?

la mouche cf How much were you interested in the situation of Kurdish people living in Turkey before beginning your work on this film?
Since it’s been a big socio-political issue during the last decades I was always interested in the situation.

la mouche cf Why did you want to show a mother-son relationship?
I wanted to tell the story in a microcosm and on a core level of human society. Two family members: mother and son. For me, the character of the son represents a state of mind in Turkey which is influenced by doubt, fear and personal retreat in the face of many invisible borders within society. In the current state of juridical arbitrariness you can never be sure you’re on the safe side of it. Taboos, norms and now also the judiciary become fluid elements, which leads to confusion, hesitancy and isolation on a personal level. The vast majority doesn’t want to risk persecution in order the preserve their status quo. Then I was very interested in focussing on the opposing interests in a mother-son relationship. As families become older, responsibilities often change. I particularly wanted to explore how a son, who’s more frightened about state authority, would cope with his more rebellious and stubborn mother in that peculiar situation, with her being imprisoned in her own house. He is torn between rebellion and obedience and thus insecure. His actions draw him more and more into lies and intrigues trying to protect his mother. I wanted to explore how a lack of honest communication and a patriarchal desire to protect someone can lead to unpleasant outcomes.

la mouche cf What was your interest in positioning the characters in an isolated location?
The reduction of the cinematic space on the home of a family was necessary to focus on the core-metaphor of a society. The privacy of someone’s shelter is the last bastion of personal freedom. Throughout human history there have always been tendencies to private retreat during authoritarian times. In this particular case that last remaining space of liberty turns into a prison with invisible borders and is repeatedly penetrated by state authority. I wanted to explore the inner dynamics within a core family during external repression. Therefore, it was important for the narration to stay within that space, especially in a short film. Also, I was interested in creating a universal frame through the focus on one location, which is not characterized by a southeast Anatolian landscape with shabby old clay huts. I had a strong desire to avoid oriental clichés pointing out: that story could be just next door.

la mouche cf How did you work on law enforcement response?
Firstly, it was important for me to work against clichés of the sinister police officer and therefore giving the story a strong “black/white” feeling. As I come from documentary film, I did a lot of research of different cases of home imprisonment in Turkey, but also visiting the real family who had gone through that story. In their case the office in Ankara called up when the mother trespassed the border. For dramatic reasons we needed the police to come to their house in the film in order to exert more pressure on the family. The end is an example of vigilantism by the officers, who just want to find an easy solution for them so that they don’t have to show up every time the old lady trespasses the border.

la mouche cf Would you say that the short film format has given you any particular freedom?
Definitely, I love working within these circumstances. You have to break down the dramatic action, focussing on what’s most important. Reduction is a gift. In our case that was the decision to let it happen in one single location. Also it’s easier (and less costly) to experiment with content and form. My next film could look and feel completely different.

Are you Listening, Mother? was shown in International Competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Dîner avec Are you Listening, Mother? (Tu m’écoutes, maman ?)

Rencontre avec...

Entretien avec Tuna Kaptan, réalisateur de Are you Listening, Mother? (Tu m’écoutes, maman ?)

la mouche cf Vous intéressiez-vous particulièrement à la situation des Kurdes de Turquie avant de vous lancer dans ce film ?
C’est un problème sociopolitique majeur depuis des décennies donc je me suis toujours intéressé à la question.

la mouche cf Pourquoi vouliez-vous mettre en scène une relation mère-fils ?
Je voulais inscrire cette histoire dans un microcosme, au cœur de la société humaine. Deux membres d’une famille : la mère et son fils. Pour moi, le personnage du fils représente un état d’esprit en Turquie, influencé par le doute, la peur et le retrait personnel face aux nombreuses frontières invisibles de la société. Dans le contexte actuel d’arbitraire judiciaire, on ne peut jamais être sûr d’être du bon côté. Les tabous, les normes, ainsi que, à l’heure actuelle, le système judiciaire sont devenus des éléments mouvants, facteurs de confusion, d’hésitation et de repli sur soi. La grande majorité des gens préfèrent éviter les persécutions et rester dans le statu quo. Puis je me suis penché sur les conflits d’intérêt au sein d’une relation mère-fils. Quand on vieillit, les responsabilités dans la famille évoluent souvent. Je voulais montrer comment un fils, qui craint surtout l’autorité de l’État, réagirait face à une mère rebelle et entêtée dans cette situation particulière d’assignation à résidence. Le fils est déchiré entre la révolte et l’obéissance, il est donc déstabilisé. Ses actions l’amènent à mentir, à comploter pour tenter de protéger sa mère. Je voulais montrer les conséquences délétères d’un manque de communication sincère et d’un désir patriarcal de protection de l’autre.

la mouche cf Pourquoi avoir situé les personnages dans un lieu si isolé ?
La réduction de l’espace cinématographique à une maison familiale était nécessaire pour se concentrer sur cette métaphore du noyau de la société. L’espace privé d’un chez-soi est le dernier bastion de la liberté individuelle. Dans toute l’histoire de l’humanité, on observe des tendances à se retrancher chez soi en période d’autoritarisme. Ici, c’est ce dernier bastion de liberté qui devient une prison aux limites invisibles et qui est envahi à plusieurs reprises par des représentants de l’autorité. Je voulais étudier la dynamique intérieure du noyau familial sous un régime de répression extérieure. Il était donc important que le récit reste dans ce cadre, surtout pour un court métrage. Je voulais également créer un univers à dimension universelle en choisissant un lieu loin des clichés orientaux de l’Anatolie du sud-est, avec ses vieilles cabanes en argile. Je voulais vraiment insister sur le fait que cette histoire pourrait arriver près de chez vous.

la mouche cf Quel a été votre travail sur la façon dont la loi est appliquée ?
Tout d’abord, je tenais absolument à éviter le cliché du méchant policier qui aurait donné au film un côté manichéen. Comme je viens du documentaire, j’ai effectué des recherches sur différentes affaires d’assignation à résidence en Turquie, mais j’ai aussi rendu visite à la famille qui a connu cette situation. Dans leur cas, les responsables d’Ankara téléphonaient à chaque fois que la mère franchissait la limite. Pour les besoins du film, nous avons fait venir les policiers en personne pour mettre la pression sur la famille. La fin est un exemple de justice autoproclamée de la part des policiers, qui veulent juste trouver une solution de facilité qui les arrange, pour ne plus avoir à se déplacer à chaque fois que la vieille dame franchit la limite.

la mouche cf Diriez-vous que le format court vous a donné une certaine liberté ?
Absolument, j’adore travailler dans ce cadre. Il faut réduire l’action dramatique à son minimum et se concentrer sur l’essentiel. Cette économie est salvatrice. Dans notre cas, elle a guidé la décision de situer l’action dans un lieu unique. C’est aussi plus facile (et moins cher) de faire des essais, tant du point de vue du contenu que de la forme. Mon prochain film sera sans doute complètement différent.

Are you Listening, Mother? (Tu m’écoutes, maman ?) a été projeté en compétition internationale.

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *